The Girl Behind the Gates – Brenda Davies

  *I received a free ARC of this book with thanks to the author and Hodder & Stoughton. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than … Continue reading The Girl Behind the Gates – Brenda Davies

Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen – Dexter Palmer

  *I received a free ARC of this novel, with thanks to the author, Little, Brown and NetGalley.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:   A stunning, powerfully evocative new novel based on a true story - in 1726 in the small town of Godalming, England, a young woman confounds the medical community … Continue reading Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen – Dexter Palmer

The Girl You Forgot – Giselle Green

  *I received a free copy of this book, with thanks to the author and Boldwood Books.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  Does the heart never really forget? When Ava’s partner Will is diagnosed with a terminal brain tumour, the doctors give Will one chance to survive - … Continue reading The Girl You Forgot – Giselle Green

Country Doctor – Michael Sparrow

  *I received a free ARC of this novel, with thanks to the author, Duckworth Books and NetGalley.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:   Have you ever had to decide what to do with an unidentified corpse by a Devonian cowshed when the herd is due in for milking? And … Continue reading Country Doctor – Michael Sparrow

Scars Like Wings – Erin Stewart

  *I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Simon & Schuster and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  Everyone has scars. Some are just easier to see ... 16-year-old Ava Lee is heading back to school one year after a house fire left her severely … Continue reading Scars Like Wings – Erin Stewart

Blog Tour: Q&A with Antoinette Truglio Martin – Hug Everyone You Know

    Yet another special treat:  I had the opportunity to put some questions to the author of Hug Everyone You Know, Antoinette Truglio Martin. First, here’s the book:   Blurb:  During 2017's National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, She Writes Press published Antoinette Truglio Martin’s touching memoir, Hug Everyone You Know: A Year of Community, Courage, … Continue reading Blog Tour: Q&A with Antoinette Truglio Martin – Hug Everyone You Know

The Art of Dying – Ambrose Parry

  *I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, NetGalley and Canongate Books. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  There's a fine line between kill and cure. Edinburgh, 1849. Despite Edinburgh being at the forefront of modern medicine, hordes of patients are dying all across the city, … Continue reading The Art of Dying – Ambrose Parry

Miracle Creek – Angie Kim

    *I received a free ARC of this book with thanks to the author, NetGalley and Hodder & Stoughton. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets. … Continue reading Miracle Creek – Angie Kim

Critical – Dr Matt Morgan

  *I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  Critical is an intelligent, compelling and profoundly insightful journey into the world of intensive care medicine and the lives of people who have forever been changed by it. Being … Continue reading Critical – Dr Matt Morgan

Holiday Shorts!

  I am back from my 'reading retreat' (which was basically just me staying in a local hotel for a couple of nights sans kids, pets and snoring hubby).  Obviously I didn't get through the whole of my rather optimistic pile of books, but I did manage a few, so I thought I would summarise … Continue reading Holiday Shorts!