Catch-Up Quickies 9

First a quick explanation! Due to some severe health issues over the last few years, and a lingering chronic condition, my planned review schedule went right out of the window and I have been scrabbling ever since to get it back on track. In my latest attempt to try to regain some lost ground, I … Continue reading Catch-Up Quickies 9

Palom – L.L. McNeil

*I received a free copy of this book, with thanks to the author. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: ‘Now the fighting’s over, you want to pick up where we left off? How? Everything’s changed.’ Linaria’s cities lie in ruin and her lands are scarred following Aciel’s war. The devastation … Continue reading Palom – L.L. McNeil

The Miracle on Ebenezer Street – Catherine Doyle

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Puffin – Random House UK and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: An enchanting tale of Christmas magic from multi-award-winning and bestselling writer Catherine Doyle. A treat for the whole family, perfect for fans of The Christmasaurus and A Boy Called Christmas. … Continue reading The Miracle on Ebenezer Street – Catherine Doyle

Blog Tour: Witches Aren’t Wicked – Hannah Baldwin

*I received a free copy of this book with thanks to the author and to Stuart Debar of SRL Publishing.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: Six witches, six perspectives, one coven. In the Delgosi Isles, magic was outlawed for witches years ago, and the girls want nothing more than to … Continue reading Blog Tour: Witches Aren’t Wicked – Hannah Baldwin

Blog Tour: Monster Max and the Bobble Hat of Forgetting – Robin Bennett

*I received a free copy of this book with thanks to the author and Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources blog tours. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: Max is an unusual 9-year-old. He can turn himself into a huge, bin- eating monster by BURPING. Being a monster is brilliant, unless he sneezes (which turns … Continue reading Blog Tour: Monster Max and the Bobble Hat of Forgetting – Robin Bennett

The Hatmakers – Tamzin Merchant

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Puffin – Random House UK and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In … Continue reading The Hatmakers – Tamzin Merchant

Curse of the Night Witch – Alex Aster

*I received a free ARC of this novel, with thanks to the author, Sourcebooks Kids - Jabberwocky and NetGalley.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: On Emblem Island all are born knowing their fate. Their lifelines show the course of their life and an emblem dictates how they will spend it. Twelve-year-old Tor … Continue reading Curse of the Night Witch – Alex Aster

James Rhyder and the Cave of Dreams -David S. Brooks

*I received a free copy of this book, with thanks to the author.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb:  Twelve-year-old James Rhyder is being hunted by people from a hidden world he never knew existed. Unlike most people his age, James doesn’t dream at night of becoming a hero. Rather, … Continue reading James Rhyder and the Cave of Dreams -David S. Brooks

Nightborn – Jessica Thorne

  *I received a free ARC of this novel, with thanks to the author, Bookouture and NetGalley.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  Like deep dark water, it pulls them down. The faint fire of magic within them flickers and dies. Their eyes turn black as night. They are nightborn now. … Continue reading Nightborn – Jessica Thorne

Storm’s Clouds – J.W. Golan

  *I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and with thanks to the author. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*   Blurb:  A dragon: the most powerful, destructive and malevolent force known. The last thing Lynette ever wanted to get closer to - and the one thing she's been tasked … Continue reading Storm’s Clouds – J.W. Golan