Strong Like the Sea – Wendy Swore

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Shadow Mountain Publishing and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: Even though twelve-year-old Alexis was born in Hawaii, she won’t surf or swim with her friends—not since the ocean and its hidden creatures swept her out to … Continue reading Strong Like the Sea – Wendy Swore

Dear Reader: The Comfort and Joy of Books – Cathy Rentzenbrink

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Picador – Pan Macmillan and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: Dear Reader is a moving, funny and joyous exploration of how books can change the course of your life, packed with recommendations from one reader to another.For as long … Continue reading Dear Reader: The Comfort and Joy of Books – Cathy Rentzenbrink

The World Between Us – Sarah Ann Juckes

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author and Penguin Random House. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: With shades of ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES and FIVE FEET APART, THE WORLD BETWEEN US is a powerful and thought-provoking story about falling in love with someone a whole … Continue reading The World Between Us – Sarah Ann Juckes

Before the Coffee Gets Cold: Tales from the Café – Toshikazu Kawaguchi (translated by Geoffrey Trousselot)

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Picador – Pan Macmillan and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: In a small back alley in Tokyo, there is a café which has been serving carefully brewed coffee for more than one hundred years. But this coffee shop … Continue reading Before the Coffee Gets Cold: Tales from the Café – Toshikazu Kawaguchi (translated by Geoffrey Trousselot)

Blind Secrets (Whispering Pines #12) – Shawn McGuire

*I received a free ARC of this book with thanks to the author.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: Sometimes what’s need most is hiding in plain sight. It’s been almost a year since Sheriff Jayne O’Shea arrived in Whispering Pines. Deciding to stay was the best decision she ever … Continue reading Blind Secrets (Whispering Pines #12) – Shawn McGuire

The Miracle on Ebenezer Street – Catherine Doyle

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Puffin – Random House UK and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: An enchanting tale of Christmas magic from multi-award-winning and bestselling writer Catherine Doyle. A treat for the whole family, perfect for fans of The Christmasaurus and A Boy Called Christmas. … Continue reading The Miracle on Ebenezer Street – Catherine Doyle

The Hatmakers – Tamzin Merchant

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Puffin – Random House UK and NetGalley. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In … Continue reading The Hatmakers – Tamzin Merchant

A Cosmology of Monsters – Shaun Hammill

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, NetGalley and Titan Books. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: Noah Turner’s family are haunted by monsters that are all too real, strange creatures that visit them all: His bookish mother Margaret; Lovecraft-obsessed father Harry; eldest sister Sydney, born … Continue reading A Cosmology of Monsters – Shaun Hammill

Guest Post: 10 Amazing Cult Novels, With Amazing Antiheroes – Billy Moran

In September, I brought you my thoughts on Billy Moran's debut novel, Don't Worry, Everything Is Going To Be Amazing, and I am pleased to welcome Billy back to Bookshine and Readbows today with a special top ten list for your run up to Christmas (after all, 'tis the season for buying lots of books, … Continue reading Guest Post: 10 Amazing Cult Novels, With Amazing Antiheroes – Billy Moran

Why Mummy’s Sloshed – Gill Sims

*I received a free ARC of this novel, with thanks to the author, Harper Collins UK and NetGalley.  The decision to review and my opinions are my own.* Blurb: Number One bestselling author Gill Sims is back with her eagerly awaited fourth and final Why Mummy novel. I just wanted them to stop wittering at me, eat vegetables without complaining, … Continue reading Why Mummy’s Sloshed – Gill Sims