The Miracle on Ebenezer Street – Catherine Doyle

*I received a free ARC of this book, with thanks to the author, Puffin – Random House UK and NetGalleyThe decision to review and my opinions are my own.*

Blurb: An enchanting tale of Christmas magic from multi-award-winning and bestselling writer Catherine Doyle. A treat for the whole family, perfect for fans of The Christmasaurus and A Boy Called Christmas.

When George stumbles across Marley’s Curiosity Shop at the Christmas fair he finds a mysterious snow globe. The scene it contains is just the first in a series of impossibilities . . .

George and his Scrooge of a dad are soon swept on a hilarious adventure to Christmases past, present and future. With help from an enthusiastic elf, a rather grumpy purple reindeer and a very mischievous Nan, can George find a way to bring the joy of Christmas home once again?

This is a fabulously festive story about finding Christmas, family, and magic!

This is clearly an ideal story to read at Christmas-time, but its messages are actually perfectly applicable all year round.

George is clinging desperately to the magic of childhood, despite the tragic loss of his beloved mother, and with the assistance of his young-at-heart Nan. Unfortunately, his dad is unable to deal with his grief at the loss, other than by shutting down, shutting George out, and banning all kinds of celebrations… including, or especially, Christmas. Can George find his dad’s softer side again and rekindle some Christmas joy for their family? Finding Marley’s shop of magical curiosities might help there!

Loosely inspired by Dickens’ classic A Christmas Carol – hence the familiar names – this is a magical adventure for middle grade readers upwards, that deals with some very heavy issues in a sensitive, but light-hearted way. There is nothing maudlin in this story of elves, paintings coming to life, and a very special snow globe. Instead there is an atmosphere of pervasive hope, determination and the innocent, childlike spirit of happy Christmases.

Perfect for middle-grade readers, reading as a family at bedtime, or gifting at Christmas, this book is a magical, fun-filled – but touchingly emotional – festive adventure that will stay with you, leaving you full of warm, fuzzy feelings and hope that there is always a fairylight at the end of the darkest tunnel.

George’s breath fogged against the snow globe.
This wasn’t just any snowman.
It was George’s snowman.
The three of them had made it together at Nan’s old house on Christmas Eve morning, heaving and stacking and packing and chiselling, their laughter chattering happily through their teeth, while his father’s nose turned red and his mother’s fingers went numb.
He looks like a Fred, doesn’t he darling?
Our perfectly imperfect Fred.

– Catherine Doyle, The Miracle on Ebenezer Street

Find more from Catherine Doyle at her website here, or follow her on Twitter and Instagram.

The Miracle on Ebenezer Street is available on Amazon right now!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s